All About Learning


You have brains in your head and feet in your shoes, you can steer yourself in any direction you choose! - Dr Seuss

The early years foundation stage curriculum is made up of seven areas:

  • personal, social and emotional development
  • mathematics
  • physical development
  • communication and language
  • literacy
  • expressive arts and design
  • understanding the world

Our timetable has a balance of all seven areas and some extras too! We have an introduction to languages, cooking, and yoga to name but a few.

Every single child is challenged at their own level. Carefully structured focus groups allow the teachers to differentiate. Literacy activities include the listening ears games – where children wear big ears and walk through the school tuning into different sounds, playing silly soup and rhyming all the words in the bowl, and reading their first book, Fat Tom.

Children start by learning all the colours and basic shapes. They then move on to sounds and numbers. We use action songs and stories to introduce them.

The children are constantly informally assessed and observed to feed into our planning. Activities initiated both by adults and by children contribute to our half-termly topics.

  • Every single child is challenged at his or her own level, individual and small group work allows our teachers to differentiate all the time.
  • The children are informally assessed and observed to aid our planning.
  • If your child wants to learn… the sky is the limit!

Wow, I can write my name!

Children have plenty of opportunities to develop their fine motor skills both indoors and outdoors. When children are ready, they are exposed to a range of activities where they practice their pencil grip and tracing over lines. Children soon learn that marks have a meaning and start to write with a purpose in mind. Teachers always challenge according to their individual ability.

I can complete a simple computer program.

The interactive white board is a wonderful tool to reinforce learning, from dragging and dropping teddy's cakes into his tummy, to ordering numbers 1 to 10 along a washing line.  Children can also write their name or colour a picture. The exciting part is when they realise you can print the work and take it home to show their parents. We also use a variety of phonics games to reinforce sound knowledge.

I can make a shape out of playdough.

Playdough is the ideal way for children to gain strength and control in their hands while learning to hold a pencil. Children start with a grasp, whole hand grip and gradually move to a tripod grip. We encourage snappy fingers where the index finger controls the pencil. Children develop at different rates and we support every child individually.